No ticket

noticketI’m now in my mid 30’s, ok getting closer to 40. I’ve lived in the United States all my life. Really in California all my life. First in Southern California for the first half of my life, and Northern for the second half. There are a few things I never thought I would ever say.

The first thing, that we’ve gotten too much rain. Yet that happened. There’s not really such a thing as too much rain in California. The state is in a perpetual drought, yet that’s exactly what happened, sorta, last year. We had a weekend where we got too much rain. It took us out of a 7-year drought in a single weekend. It caused flooding and nearly caused a dam to break and could have flooded the leveys of the central valley. This is something that simply does not happen.

Heres the second thing. Over the weekend, people, in the United States, were attacked by Nazis. Not in a like historical re-reenactment, which to the best of my knowledge does not exist for WWII (not counting movies). But people were attacked by actual Nazis. In the present time, well after WWII should really have decided this.

More than that someone was killed by a Nazi. I guess that makes this a third thing I never really thought I’d have to say. I mean come on? Do these guys really still exist?

2017-01-24-Indiana-Jones

(above comic from funnywebcomic.com)

Alright, I don’t live in a bubble. Alt-Right, White Supremacists, white nationalists, Nazis. they still exist, I know that. I know hate crimes happen, I know people are still trying to hurt or kill each other over something as trivial as the amount of melanin people have in their skin. But they don’t hold rallies in broad daylight, they don’t attack people openly, they exist as a dark underbelly that the vast majority of us wish would disappear already, but no amount of shea butter seems to work.

It boggles my mind that in 2017 there are actual Nazis in America that are hurting people. I don’t understand why this is still an issue. What is it about the color of someone’s skin, or their religion, or whatever other insane issue that causes one person to hate another.

I’m one of the only white people at the place I currently work. I’ve worked in several locations where that was also the case. I can’t say I’ve always liked everyone I’ve ever worked with, but that was never because of the color of their skin, or their place of birth. Usually it’s because of the universal constant as related by Q in the Peter David/John DeLancie book I, Q. “There’s just something about you that pisses me off.” but that was never the color of their skin.

I have friends I disagree with on policies and politics and religion and video games and comics and whether Star Trek or Star Wars is better (spoiler: it’s Star Trek) We don’t hate each other over these things.

I feel like I’m rambling now. It’s hard to keep my thoughts coherent when I’m writing about actual Nazis hurting and killing people today. I mean didn’t we already decide this? The United States already fought a war over slavery in the 1850’s (Yes, I know slavery was not the only issue, but it was the main one). And while we didn’t fight a war over Nazi’s in the 1940’s we did fight a war against them.

caphitDon’t we all remember this? Wasn’t this in that recent Marvel documentary? Or at the very least your damn history books?

The south lost. The Nazis lost. And despite what appears to be a resurge in racism and bigotry, that’s going to lose too. For all of you trying to hold onto this idea of hate and oppression based on (insert idiotic reason here), the world is changing. And its going to change with or without you. There’s really no room for this anymore, and there’s no reason for it.

We’re all in this together. We all want the same things. We may have different ideas on how to get that, or what the best way to go is. We may disagree on different things, like if Star Trek or Star Wars is better (Still Star Trek) maybe its Marvel or DC (Marvel, except for Batman)

But the color of our skin? That should matter just as much as the color of our shoes. And it should be just as inconsequential.

Leave a Reply

